Public Relations… What’s the definition again?

clueless2.jpg

Even though I haven’t read through a dictionary in longer than I can remember, I feel pretty safe in saying most things in this world have a set definition that can be agreed upon. After a discussion in class and a few quick moments of research, I’ve come to realize that even amongst prestigious PR organizations, dictionaries and answer.com, no one can seem to clearly agree on a set definition. Take for example Geoff Livingston post about “PR’s ridiculous identity crisis.” He pulls PR definitions from PRSA, the Institute for Public Relations, First World Form for Public Relations, Dictionary.com and Answers.com. Each definition genuinely differs from one another.

 

As a student who suddenly realized he’s a near three months and five credits away from graduation, I’ve slowly started realizing the uncertainties of my life as graduate in a field neither I nor anyone can clearly define. I’m hoping this is just my uncertainties or a lack of confidence getting the best of me, otherwise I fear I’m in for some rough times over the next six months.

 

So how do you define PR?

Leave a Reply

